The ‘Nationalists’

Normally I don’t write about political things, but this is something I’ve been meaning to get off my chest. This has remained unfinished and I don’t know how I feel about it, but here it is.

Bald headed animals bang at their breasts,
Against riot police, clad in their vests,
And The town is in a state of civil unrest.

A tattooed man with his menacing face,
Begins to preach hatred to each and every race,
Believing it’s his right because of his birthplace.

And he speaks of and upholds the Nazi regime,
His benighted minions, they shout and they scream,
I see a pattern emerging, an unsettling theme.

It all began pitching ‘us‘ against ‘them‘,
A whole entire race, they want you to condemn,
As it descends into chaos, complete mayhem.

I grew up with ‘them‘, we were born side by side,
They laughed when I laughed and cried when I cried,
Why must I loathe ‘them‘? Why must there be a divide?

My ancestors were ‘them‘, must I hate them too?
No, keep your hatred, no thank you.
Don’t think that you’ll make my views askew.

2 thoughts on “The ‘Nationalists’

Leave a Reply

